Featured Post

Road accident claims one life, injures one more in Messica

An  accident that occurred this Sunday on the bridge over the Revue River in the administrative post of Messica, in the district of Manica, province of the same name, left one person dead and another gravely wounded. Accident involved a large truck that, in addition to running over the two persons, collided head-on with a light vehicle belonging to the delegation of the interior minister, Arsénia Massingue, who had just finished a working visit to the Manica province. Mário Arnaça, the director of public relations of the PRM's provincial headquarters in Manica, blames the accident on erroneous overtaking. The crash caused both vehicles to sustain significant material damage in addition to the fatalities.

Niassa Province

Niassa is Mozambique's largest province, covering approximately 16 per cent of the country's total area. It is also the least densely populated province, with an average of only seven people per square.It has an area of 129,056 km2 and a population of 1,027,037 (2006).

 It is the most sparsely populated province in the country.Lichinga is the capital of the province. 

There are a minimum estimated 450,000 Yao people living in Mozambique. 

They largely occupy the eastern and northern part of the Niassa province and form about 40% of the population of Lichinga, the capital of this province.

 The Ruvuma River forms much of the northern boundary of the province with Tanzania while Lake Niassa forms the western border of the province, separating it from Malawi. 75% of the province remains untouched by development, and remains free of landmine.

The province shares the Niassa National Reserve with neighboring Cabo Delgado Province.

In 1998, a provincial college was built in Lichinga to train teachers. 
Partially financed by the Irish Embassy in Maputo, it graduates 60 teachers a year.

 Apart from training teachers for local schools, the college offers primary school education to the local Lichinga community and works towards reducing the impact of HIV/AIDS in Niassa province.

The 15 districts of Niassa Province are: Cuamba District
 Lago District 
Lichinga District
 Majune District 
Mandimba District 
Marrupa District
 Maúa District 
Mavagoago District 
Mecenhelas District
 Mecula District
 Metarica District 
Muembe District 
N'gauma District 
Nipepe District 
Sanga District .

Niassa Province includes the municipalities of Cuamba ,Lichinga Metangula.